Bones of the Orbit II

Bones of the orbit II
Media License: 
Creative Commons Sharealike (CC BY SA)
Creation Date: 
Monday, April 11, 2016

The orbit is formed by six bones: frontal, maxilla, zygomatic, sphenoid, lacrimal and ethmoid. The palatine bones are sometimes included as well, as they make small contribution to the floor of the orbit. The orbits have a pyramidal shape with a roof, floor, medial wall and lateral wall. The apex of the pyramid is directed posteromedially. The nasal bones and inferior nasal conchae, which are not part of the orbit, are also shown in the model.

3D models from BodyParts3D, © 2008 Database Center for Life Science licensed by CC display - Share Alike 2.1 Japan, available at: The models have been colored

From the model page at SketchFab, taken 2018-01-22.